What A Vegan In India Eats : Foods I Eat

Just cutting off 4-5 categories of food makes every curious person more curious to know about the “few” things I allow myself to eat. This post probably could be the answer to “You eat nothing!” remark.

Before I begin, I must notify that every person has some “I hate that food” food. So everyone is a picky eater in some ways and the proud statement of “I eat everything” is a lie.

Just like everyone else, I also have my own filter of choosing the suitable food.

  1. Is it vegan? Any product that DOES NOT cause any harm to any animals.
  2. Is it edible? Nontoxic, not damaged and correctly served.
  3. Is it healthy? Just try to stay away from flour, sugar, and some oils.

And if it gets stuck in the first layer of the filter – I am not touching that thing! Other two depends on the intake amount 🙂

Here is a list of foods I eat regularly:

  1. Grains. Ex. Rice, wheat, corn, oats, etc.
  2. Lentils. Ex. all of the dals.
  3. Beans. Ex. Kidney beans, soy, etc.
  4. Peas. Ex. Chickpeas, green peas, etc.
  5. Nuts and other Seeds. Ex. Coconut, pumpkin seeds, peanuts, etc.
  6. Fruits. Ex. Banana, mangoes… (all of them)
  7. Greens. Ex. Malabar spinach, spinach, purslane, etc.
  8. Vegetables. Ex. Onions and umm potatoes?
  9. Drinks. Excluding water:  Sattu (a drink with the powder of roasted chickpeas), rice water (boiled), and a lot more.
  10. Other Musts. Three daily musts: 1 clove of garlic, a lemon, and a green chili.

The examples in this list contain only the items I eat regularly. It’s obvious that there are other things I eat occasionally.


At first, I thought to list down all the foods, but I am glad I came up with categories. Or else it would be an infinite post.  There’s a lot of things to eat. And even if we exclude milk, meat, fish, and eggs – we could never fail to please out tongue or find it hard to get enough “protein”.

 

Leave a Reply

