Sleeping on The Floor : Benefits

Zzz…

Personally, I like living on the ground. My 70% indoor life is on the floor (even my desktop is 4″ above the ground). Thanks to the traditions of India I was introduced to sleeping on the floor at an early age and it’s been more than two years I’ve been sleeping on the floor on a regular basis (Except too cold days of winter). I prefer and use the traditional grass mats (Chatai / Madur).

As I lived literally 90% of the year closer to the earth here’s what I experienced:

  • Fall asleep faster.  Whenever I try to sleep on a softer surface I tend to find the perfect position to get comfortable because there are various choices. There’s no other option than to lie on the back when it comes to the floor.
  • Wake up faster.  A soft mattress can be a reason for the laziness in the morning. But a straw mat on the floor rarely holds you back to sleep 5 minutes extra after the alarm goes off.
  • Easy to free space. It becomes fast and easy to shift your sleeping are when required.
  • Less maintenance. Saves a lot of time and energy.

Additional Benefits:

  • back pain treatment. Many people consider sleeping on the floor to treat their lower back pain. It also helps to cure Sciatica.
  • Posture corrections. Lying on a flat surface helps gravity to pull certain joints down to make the posture correct.
  • Improves blood circulation. Related to posture correction stretched muscles help blood circulation better. It also improves our breathing quality.
  • Defines the sleep best. Sleeping on the floor makes sleep an act of resting rather than an act of being lazy.

Things to keep in mind:

  • Get a thin-soft mat. It’s smart not to sleep on the direct floor. Use a mat to make it work right.
  • Deal with the body ache. If you are new to this habit, you are probably going to have body aches for the first 2-3 days. It’s normal because your body is getting used to the new habitat to take rest. (Try placing a pillow beneath the thighs to enjoy the process)
  • Be aware of bugs and cold. If you have bugs in your house try to keep them out of your way (read more). And if the weather is cold try to get an insulation object (Like wood, cork-boards etc.). I do have an emergency bed if the cold gets out of control.
  • Medical conditions. Under medical treatments, one should always choose the bed that supports to improve the health.

 

In the end, all I want to confess is that I don’t prefer to sleep on the ground because of any religious/traditional beliefs neither I was suffering from back pain; it was just the simplicity that attracted me (neither I am broke nor I am afraid of the boogeyman under the bed!) and I found it more natural and satisfying.

 

Leave a Reply

