My simple life: The way it is now

Minimalism is not that you should own nothing. But that nothing should own you.

Every newborn baby’s life is simple and straight-forward. No complicated emotions, just yes or no; happy or sad, hungry or full; good or bad. But no one is born minimalist.

Minimalism is a conscious choice and no newborn is not conscious at all. All they are doing is trying to figure out ways to get comfort by using binary choices. 1 or 0. They could stay like that for the rest of their life but that’s impossible. They are fast in learning and can tweak their decisions based on the emotions to get better comfort. And that’s how things start getting complicated. That’s not a bad thing. Complicated life forces us to make it simpler, and, that how we get conscious about life.

Like any other kinds, I also found joy having new things. It was a way to achieving more happiness and feeling a growth in life. The more I grew the more I wanted grown up possessions to feel respected.

I don’t remember what exactly led me toward minimalism, but I know that after failing in 12th standard I started taking life less seriously. I put all my focus on the multimedia training course I joined later to avoid the pain of reality I guess. But after doing better than expected in that course I got my confidence back and learned the power of focusing one thing at a time.

That was a complete paradigm shift. I wanted to learn more; I wanted to be more. And that is the time I discovered concept the self-improvement: all the important lesson that our school forgot to teach me. I started reading books of Robin Sharma, Tony robbins, Tim Ferriss, Dale Carnegie and other authors who contributed to the most important area of people’s life. Soon self-improvement and self-control  became the center of all the things I do in life. It’s undoubtedly the best investment I have and more I learn about these things the easier it gets to understand life.

Self improvement is there to teach you to make your life less complicated, so does minimalism. Minimalism is a part of self-improvement and it was just a matter of time for me to get the taste of it.

Like having materialistic possessions, living a minimalist life also is an emotional thing. The only difference is one is ‘being controlled’ and the other is ‘be in control’.

I may not me the perfect minimalist, cause I do own metarialistic possesions. I have lot’s of books that I can’t get rid of, few things that I am emotionally attached to and some other stuff that add value in my life somehow.

If you read my previous posts on minimalism, you’ll realize that I have a love-hate relationship with minimalism. That’s a good thing for me. I don’t wanna do anything out of blind belief. I love to criticize my life and that’s the best way to practice kaizen.

 

Many may think that owing less is a cheap life style. It’s not being cheap. Being minimalist does not kill the desire to be happy, it just helps us to stop looking happiness through materialistic things. Life is not about having, it’s about being.

And it always is quality over quantity.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. OlafN says:

    Very true, if more and more people would be more conscious about their shopping choices many problems would be softened and maybe vanish after a while. However, we are not there yet. Thank you for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agree! We maybe not there yet but at least we are making progress towards it with our individual awareness and contribution. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

